Posted in TRAVEL

Backpack to Japan Day 1: Shinjuku, Tokyo

Did you ever dream to visit Japan one day? Yes, I did. Since I learned Japanese, I had a dream to traveling in Japan. It happened like a fairytale. I got opportunity to a business trip to Japan in 2015!!! Thanks to my company because they paid all accommodation for my business trip. I visited many tourist spots and tried some food in Tokyo, Kyoto, Nara, and Osaka. Haneda
This story was started when I arrived at Haneda International Airport on 17th September 2015. After I passed immigration check, I was taking my backpack. I joined my group and my boss guide us went to the airport lobby. Because I needed internet access in Japan, I booked PuPuRu Pocket Wi-Fi for 10 days. I took PuPuRu pocket wifi in JAL ABC airport counter.Arrive in Japan

Our next destination was Shinjuku Washington Hotel, one of the best hotels in Shinjuku by Fujita Kanko. We took Airport Limousine to Shinjuku Washington Hotel with fare 1,230 Yen (150 IDK). One hour passed, we arrived in Shinjuku Washington Hotel.

Limousine Bus
Limousine Bus

We dropped our baggage in the hotel receptionist counter because we arrived before check-in time. While waiting check-in time, we explored tourist spots around Shinjuku. I went to JR East Travel Counter to exchange JR Pass’s order form into JR Pass’s ticket. The staff was very friendly and willingly to arrange my journey in Japan. I decided to use JR Pas at the next day.

Japan Rail Pass
JR East Travel Service Center

Shinjuku Post OfficeAfter I got my JR Pass ticket,  we started to moving again. We visited Tokyo Metropolitan Government, a free sightseeing spot in Shinjuku. When I explored the building, I spotted some Chinese tourist also come to visit this tourist spot. Japan was a very popular destination for Chineses and Koreans traveler.

Tokyo
Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building
Tourism Center
Tourism Center

We got many leaflets, guide books, and magazine about Japan in Tourism Center for free. Not only Japanese’s guide book, they also had guide books in Korean, English, and Mandarin. My backpack was full already with interesting and informative guide book or magazines. That was killing me! But I didn’t say a word, just tried to get used with this heavy backpack.My boss asked us, where do you want to go next? I didn’t have an idea. So we just went back to the hotel, had a lunch, and relaxing in hotel’s café before check-in.

Donburi Tuna
My Lunch

I ordered Donburi Tuna, a rice bowl which having tuna sashimi, egg, and taro on the top. Besides that, I also got a fresh salad and a delicious soup! Unfortunately, after I tried a bit of sashimi I could not continue to eat them. I tried my best to finish my lunch, but I was failed. I said sorry to my boss because I couldn’t finish it. He said okay and felt sorry about it.

“Your menu is the most expensive here”, he said it for a joke.

Americano

I said sorry to myself and promised to order cheaper foods next time.^0^
Soon after that, I broke my promise already. Once again, I ordered expensive coffee in the Washinton Shinjuku Hotel’s café. I failed to order the cheap one. Because a cup of Americano was very expensive there compare to other people’s order. I got a cup Americano coffee and a bite of biscuit.

My Journey in AsiaQuest Japan

A robot

The highlight of my first day in Japan was my experience visiting AsiaQuest Japan. AsiaQuest Japan is a head office of my company. The building located in Iidabashi area. The schedule was collaboration presentation from AsiaQuest Japan and AsiaQuest Indonesia.

After we finished the presentation, we had dinner in Yakiniku Toraji, Tokyo Ebisu. Because I can’t eat raw meat, my boss suggested Yakiniku restaurant. Yakiniku Toraji is famous Korean Restaurant in Tokyo Ebisu. I recommended this restaurant if you want to spend your money with great food. Just took my boss money, please. ^0^

Omoide Yokocho
Omoide Yokocho

This was my first day in Japan. I enjoyed Tokyo’s atmosphere and society. I still have many plans for nine days left. For closing my day, we traveled around Omoide Yokocho, a small valley near JR Shinjuku Station. Yo can grab a drink and eat a bowl of Ramen in Omoide Yokocho. See you tomorrow Shinjuku, I tried very hard to believe what happen that day and closed my eyes. This was not a dream, was not it?

Leave a comment